Go to the content

Leuven-based designer Bram Kerkhofs wins award in RTBF's C'est Du Belge

2 February 2017

Wednesday evening, to his own surprise, Leuvenite Bram Kerkhofs won the C'est du Belge (It's Belgian) award for 'Les meilleurs de l'année 2016' (The best of the year 2016) in the category deco-design. An award traditionally difficult to win for Flemings.

Bram was already surprised when he found out he was nominated by Xavier Lust, a Belgian designer and one of Bram's biggest sources of inspiration. After adressing his own network to vote for him, Bram found out last night that he won the award for best Deco-design. "This is another step towards putting the creative sector in Leuven on the map", Bram concludes.

C'est du Belge focuses on young Belgian talent within seven categories, ranging from gastronomy to fashion. At the end of each year, the show hosts the 'Les meilleurs de l'année' awards. For each of the seven categories, the editors chose four candidates. The public then votes for their favourites per category. This year's award show will be aired Friday February 3rd at 20:20 on La Une.

"Is dit Belgisch? C'est du Belge!"

Did you know the show has been on the air for over ten seasons now and ows its name to a rather famous quote by the former king of Belgium, Albert II? For the king's celebration of his ten-year reign, festivities were held in Brussels on Belgium's national holiday in 2003. After the numerous performances by Belgian artists, the king climbed up on stage to thank them by saying "Is dit Belgisch? C'est du Belge!" (Was that Belgian? It's Belgian!". Two years later, the show aired for the first time.

Related News

How can we help?

The Leuven MindGate team is at your disposal for any questions about the Leuven Innovation Region. Do you want to invest, work or study in the region? We can help you find your way.

We also facilitate collaboration and innovation between companies, knowledge institutes and government within the Leuven Innovation Region, and we are happy to guide any of these stakeholders towards innovation.